Web Seminar : Fingerprinting Sources of Environmental Pollution Using Stable Isotopes : A focus on Nitrogen – 25/09 à 17h

Live Webcast – Wednesday, 25/09/2019 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST
Register now 
Event Overview
Environmental pollution is unfortunately everywhere—in our air, our soils, and our waterways. It is a pervasive characteristic of the world we inhabit, driven
by our increasing need to exploit raw materials, manufacture modern technologies, and feed our ever-expanding populations. Across the world, huge volumes of environmental pollutants enter our planet’s oceans, lakes, and rivers, damaging the health of waters critical to supporting human and aquatic life. So, where do isotope fingerprints come in to determine the source of pollution? This webcast will provide an introduction to the use of stable isotopes as key tracers for sources of pollution, focusing on nitrogen (N) one of the key nutrients for life. We will discuss how isotopes can help us understand the N cycle and fingerprint sources of human-derived N pollution, both modern and historic. Through the use of geochemical tracers such as isotopes, scientists can help policy makers determine the best routes for mitigating environmental damage and hopefully start to reverse the impact we are 
having on delicate ecosystems. 
Key Learning Objectives
An overview of stable isotope systems that may be used to trace environmental pollution, including carbon, nitrogen, sulfur, and oxygenUnderstanding how we use isotopes to come to grips with the cycling of key nutrients like nitrogenHow nitrogen can be used to identify historical pollution in lake sediments and how we can use both N and O isotopes to help identify the sources of this pollution
Presenters
Dr. Andi Smith
Stable Isotope Geochemist
National Environmental Isotope Facility
  Moderator
Laura Bush
Editorial Director
Spectroscopy
 Register now 
Sponsored by:
Unable to attend? All registrants receive a link to a recorded version of the webcast.

Laisser un commentaire

Fermer le menu